Submitted by WA Contents

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

Netherlands Architecture News - May 16, 2018 - 01:04   4320 views

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

The annual World Architecture Festival (WAF), dedicated to celebrating, sharing and inspiring outstanding architecture, has extended its submission deadline to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival, which will be held on November 28-30, 2018 at RAI Amsterdam this year.

Architects and designers can submit their projects until June 1, 2018 to be judged by renowned industry experts from across the world, all LIVE critics are held in front of the world-renowned architects and industry leaders at the festival in Amsterdam.

Once again, World Architecture Community is official Media Partner of WAF, and offers to its Professional Members 10% discount over regular delegate tickets and regular submission entries during registration! All you have to do is to upgrade your World Architecture Community membership to Professional here or visit your WAC Settings page and if you're already a Professional Member of WAC, just send us ( an email to get your promo code for your WAF registration!

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

Post-Earthquake Prototype House In Guangming Village selected as the World Building of The Year in 2017

INSIE Festival, a sister event of WAF, is taking place at the same venue with the WAF. The INSIDE Festival selects the best interior designs of the year across the 9 categories of Bars & Restaurants, Civic, Culture & Transport, Creative Re-use, Display, Health & Education, Hotels, Offices, Residential and Retail. Designers can also send their entries until June 1, 2018.

Last year, a post-earthquake prototype house in Guangming by the Chinese University of Hong Kong was selected as the World Building of The Year, while the Fabricwood by Produce.Workshop was named as the World Interior Of The Year. 

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

Fabricwood by Produce.Workshop Named World Interior Of The Year 2017

Architects and designers can send their entries in as many categories as they like and one project can also be entered into multiple categories. In addition, if they submit 3 or more entries, they can enter the code MULTIENTRY15 to save 15% discount. 

WAF proposes 33 categories for entries starting from Housing, Landscape category to Experimental, Display category. All shortlisted participants present their projects in front of the judges with live critics. This year's judges include Alison Brooks, Aaron Betsky, Odile Decq, Jason Flanagan, Francine Houben and many more...Over 130 judges representing over 35+ countries will evaluate WAF entrants, and decide winners on a shortlist.

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

Alison Brooks introduced the concept of performance in architecture with her installation The Smile which was displayed at the London Design Festival 2016

All winners from shortlisted projects will be announced as live during the event, and the Super Jury will evaluate the winners from each category for the coveted titled World Building of the Year, Future Project of the Year and Interior of the Year. This year's Super Jury will be comprised of David Adjaye, Nathalie de Vries, Manuelle Gautrand, Mohsen Mostafavi and Li Xiaodong.

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

The WAF's Super Jury was on the stage last year

To mark this year's festival location, WAF is also launching an "Amsterdam Prize" for the best building in the city, completed between January 2017 and July 2018.

Any building in Amsterdam entered into a Completed Building category will be eligible to be considered for the shortlist of the "Amsterdam Prize" and visited by a jury on 27 November 2018. The winner will be announced on 28th November 2018, the first day of WAF.

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

Binh House was selected as the Completed Buildings Winner - designed by Vo Trong Nghia Architects, in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

This year, WAF Programme Director, Paul Finch also gives his advice and exclusive tips to help you make your WAF entry stand out amongst the crowd.

"We have more special prizes thisyear which require no entry fee.They cover small projects, bestuse of colour, best use of certified timber, innovative use of glass andso on. There are also the WAFXawards for future projects whichaddress certain issues (detailed on the WAF website)," stated Finch in the list.

"When the shortlist judges are deciding the best entries in categories, they will also be looking out for potential prize-winners, so bear this in mind in relation to your entry design. At the Festival, as ever, judges will get excited by exemplary design, especially if it is presented concisely, within the 10 min time limit, and where the illustrationseach tell a relevant story."

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

Irving Smith Architects' Bach with Two Roofs in Golden Bay, New Zealand won the prize in Villa category last year

The WAF's Awards programme also follows various keynote sessions, talks, conferences and live critics realized in front of an international judging panel of industry experts. WAF's this year's theme has not been announced yet and its detailed program is set to be announced in the coming months.

Alongside 33 award categories, the WAF will also host new Prizes which are free to enter, increasing your chances to be shortlisted. Architectural Photography Awards, The 'Amsterdam Prize', Best Use of Colour Prize, Small Project of the Year Prize, WAF Research Programme and WAFX Prize are just few of them. 

Call for entries to this year's WAF and INSIDE Festival

Heneghan Peng Architects, The Palestinian Museum, Birzeit, Palestine won the prize in Culture category last year

WAF is launching the Glass Future Prize this year. This new WAF prize, sponsored by Guardian Glass, will be awarded to a Future Project entry which points to new ways in which glass and glass technology can be deployed in projects of any scale. Furthermore, the Best Use of Certified Timber Prize will be presented by WAF for first time this year, a prize for the 'Best Use of Certified Timber' in completed buildings. 

For this prize, shortlisted architects will be contacted to confirm that the timber specified and used in the project originates from certified sources demonstrating leadership in sustainable design. A special jury will hear presentations of the best 10 entries on the morning of Friday 30th November at WAF.

The winner will be presented with their prize at the Gala Dinner on Friday 30th November.

First, upgrade your membership on your WAC account and then join the festival and book your pass today.

Top image: Alison Brooks Architects, The Smile, London, United Kingdom won the award in Display category last year. 

All images courtesy of WAF

> via WAF