Submitted by WA Contents

What makes World Architecture Festival unique?

Netherlands Architecture News - Mar 25, 2019 - 06:42   6064 views

What makes World Architecture Festival unique?

The World Architecture Festival has launched its 2019 edition for the 2019 WAF Awards and INSIDE Festival which will be held in Amsterdam on 4-6 December, 2019. Early-bird registration deadline is April 12, 2019, and you can enter projects here.

Celebrating its 12th edition this year, what makes the WAF distinguished is, only at WAF, you are judged by your peers, your heroes and the industry’s power players, all live. This is the only awards programme to offer such a rigorous and respected judging process.

Now accepting submissions under 33 categories, entries are open across Future Projects and Completed Buildings, projects of any size, type or budget have the chance to make the shortlist and go on to win a prestigious WAF trophy. 

WAF also announced its respected judging process as well as its awards program to help the participants to schedule their own program:

  1. June 2019 - shortlist decided:
    Leading architects and industry professionals gather in London to look at all the entry boards and decide WAF’s shortlist. You will be informed soon after if you are a finalist.

  2. July 2019 -  shortlist is announced to the world:
    All finalists will be published on the WAF website, international press and WAF’s renowned media partners including The Architectural Review and ArchDaily, World Architecture Community.

  3. 4 and 5 December 2019 -  live category judging at WAF:
    All finalists present live to the jurors at WAF in Amsterdam. Each presenter has 10 minutes to present and 10 minutes of Q&A with the jury. The winners of each category are announced at the end of each day.

  4. 6 December 2019 - live judging for overall winners:
    Each category winner presents again for the WAF Completed Building. WAF Future Project or INSIDE World Interior of the Year Super-Jury.

  5. 6 December 2019 - final winners are revealed:
    The World Building, Future Project, Landscape and Interior of the Year winners are announced live at the Gala Dinner. Winners have been meticulously weighed and measured over three rounds of peer-review judging.

World Architecture Community is official Media Partner for this year's festival and offers to its Professional Members 10% discounted tickets over regular festival prices during WAF registration and their entries per project submission! All you have to do is to upgrade your World Architecture Community membership to Professional here or visit your WAC Settings page and send us ([email protected]) an email to get your promo code for your WAF registration!

Early-bird discount ends Friday 12 April to receive a €100 discount as well. The final entry deadline is Friday 3 May 2019.

Top image: WOHA's Kampung Admiralty won the World Building of the Year 2018 award at the WAF in Amsterdam. Image © Patrick Bingham-Hall, Darren Soh, Lim Weixiang.

> via WAF