Submitted by WA Contents

Architecture at Zero Design Competition Winners Announced

United Kingdom Architecture News - Jan 7, 2015 - 09:52   4628 views

Architecture at Zero 2014 is a zero net energy design competition open to students and professionals worldwide, engaging architecture, engineering, planning students and professionals in the pursuit of energy efficient design. 

Architecture at Zero 2014 is presented by Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) and the American Institute of Architects Foundation (AIAF) in partnership with the East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation (EBALDC).

The Architecture at Zero competition, now in its fourth year, was conceived as a response to the zero net energy targets set out by the California Public Utility Commission (CPUC) in the 2008 report, California’s Long Term Energy Efficiency Strategic Plan. In this report, the CPUC set out four “Big Bold Energy Efficiency Strategies” for California that include the goals that all new residential construction in California be ZNE by 2020 and that all new commercial construction be ZNE by 2030.

Architecture at Zero 2014 is sponsored by the Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E), as part of its program activities dedicated to furthering the knowledge-building and practice of ZNE building in California.

Architecture at Zero seeks creative and feasible approaches to ZNE building. By encouraging innovative design solutions to site-specific design challenges, the competition aims to broaden thinking about the technical and aesthetic possibilities of zero net energy projects. Further, it seeks to raise the profile of ZNE among built-environment professionals, students, and the general public in California and beyond.

we present the winners of the competition below:

Merit Award - Student

Gateway Residences. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

Judson University ,Elgin, IL 
Project Manager: Eric Blowers 
Sustainability Specialist: Jaclein Ely 
Designer: David Merlo 
Detail Drawing Manager: Kathryn Husar 
Diagrams/Illustrations Specialist: Peter Lukacs 
Sponsored Faculty Member: Keelan Kaiser

Merit Award - Student

The Wave. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

The Wave

University of Aalborg 
Copenhagen, Denmark 
Project Architects & Engineers: Elias Mohr Jensen, Jonas Snedevind Nielsen and Henrik Jacobsen

Special Recognition - Professional

Flourish. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero


SERA & Glumac 
Portland, OR 
Project Manager/Designer/Technical Documents: Katie Felver 
Designer/Technical Documents: Nathan Burton 
Designer/Graphics: Artur Grochowski 
Graphics Assist: Jodi Hanson 
Designer Biophilia Specialist: Matt Piccone 
Designer: Jeffrey Maas 
Project Engineer/Energy Modeler: Brian Goldsmith 
Envelope Advisor: Mark Perepelitza 
Design Advisor: Jeff Roberts 
Project Management/Daylight Advisor: Lisa Petterson 
Energy Advisor: Chris Lowen 
Energy Advisor: James Thomas

Honor Award - Professional

Embracing Limits. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

Embracing Limits

3r studio 
Oakland, CA 
Project Architects: Le Pham and Mai Tran 
Energy Consultant: Hung Dang

Honor Award - Professional

Symbiosis. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero


Montreal, Canada 
Team: Rocio Carvajo Lucena, Architect, LEED, Sergio Carretero Gomez, Architect, Josiane Crampé, M. Architect, and Geoffrey Diackiw, M. Architect

> via